Skip to main content

Lady Byng Trophy Trivia!

Congratulations to Martin St. Louis, Ryan O'Reilly and Patrick Marleau who were announced as finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly play.

In a recent Twitter conversation, Hockey Night In Canada's Jeff Marek and The Hockey News' Adam Proteau were debating how to revamp the Lady Byng Trophy in order to restore prestige and pride in the award. I suggested that if fans and players had a better idea of winners like Frank NighborFrank BoucherRed KellyDave Keon and Mike Bossy there would be no lack of pride in winning the award.

With that in mind, here are a few Lady Byng trivia questions for you:

  1. Who is Marie Evelyn Moreton? Answer - She is Lady Byng. That's her real name, while Lady Byng was her official title. She was the wife of Viscount Byng of Vimy, a Vimy Ridge war hero who was Governor General of Canada from 1921 to 1926.
  2. Lady Byng awarded the trophy for Sportsmanship and Gentlemanly play because she was so enamored with which player? Answer - Frank Nighbor aka The Pembroke Peach.  He was a brilliant two-way player with Ottawa in the 1920s, one of the most underrated superstars in history's eyes.
  3. This player won the award 7 times in an 8 year span. Who is he? Answer - Frank Boucher of the New York Rangers won the trophy every year except one between 1928 through 1935. Lady Byng was so happy with his performance she gave him the original trophy to keep at his home. The trophy was later destroyed in a house fire in 1962.
  4. This player interrupted the impressive trophy reign of the player in the previous question. Who is he? Answer - In 1932 Gentleman Joe Primeau won the Lady Byng. Leafs have won the Byng Trophy nine times -Gordie DrillonSyl AppsSid Smith twice, Red KellyDave Keon twice andAlexander Mogilny.
  5. Only three defensemen in history have ever won the Lady Byng. Can you name them? Answer - Detroit's Bill Quackenbush won the trophy in 1949, after a penalty free season which saw him on the NHL's First All Star Team. Detroit's Red Kelly won the trophy in 1951, 1953 and 1954, taking a combined 50 minutes in penalties over those three seasons. He was a First Team All Star in each of those seasons. Kelly won a 4th Byng trophy in 1961 with Leafs, but he played as a center that season. Brian Campbell of the Florida Panthers won the trophy in 2012.
  6. How many goalies have won the Lady Byng? Answer - zero!
  7. This player changed his style from one of the league's top penalty minute leaders to win back-to-back Lady Byng trophies. Who is he?Answer - Stan Mikita was one of the dirtiest players in the game, using his stick for far more than scoring goals. But one night his young daughter asked him why he was sent to the penalty box so much, Mikita could not give her an appropriate answer. He changed his style dramatically, winning the Byng Trophy in 1967 and 1968. Amazingly, in each of those years he also won the Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring leader and the Hart Trophy as Most Valuable Player - the only player to capture all three awards in the same season.
  8. Wayne Gretzky won the Lady Byng how many times? Answer - Five times. Only Boucher has more Byng Trophy wins than The Great One


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M