Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

February 17, 2014

Canada To Meet USA For Women's Hockey Gold

Canada defeated Switzerland 3 to 1 on Monday. That sets up the much anticipated Canada-USA gold medal rematch on Thursday. The Americans downed Sweden 6-1 in the other semi-final

Canada stormed out of the gates in the 1st period, scoring three times on 12 shots. Natalie Spooner scored twice and rookie Melodie Daoust scored her first Olympic goal for Canada. Hayley Wickenheiser assisted on both of Spooner's goals.

Canada seemed to be on cruise control after period one but the Swiss came back to make a game of it in the second period, thanks to a power play goal by Jessica Lutz - the American coffee barista playing for Switzerland.

Canada took control of the game back in the second half of the period, but star goaltender Florence Schelling was nothing short of spectacular. She stymied Marie-Philip Poulin on three occassions - leading to an exchange of big grins and respectful nods. Schelling's glove save that certainly robbed Poulin of a goal was the save of the Olympics - men's or women's.

The Schelling show continued throughout the third. The Swiss did have some chances to score, but Canadian goalie Shannon Szabados was up to the task - spectacularly on at least two occasions.

If it wasn't for Schelling Canada would have walked away with this one easily. Being pushed is not a bad thing, as it forces Canada to play at a higher level before the gold medal showdown with USA.

The gold medal game is on Thursday at 12pm ET/9am PST.

Switzerland will play Sweden for the bronze medal at 7am EST/4am PST.

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP