Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

June 15, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: June 15th

1979 - Edmonton Oilers' coach Glen Sather was promoted to General Manager/Head Coach.

1985 - Toronto Maple Leafs used the #1 pick overall at the 1985 NHL Entry Draft to select Wendel Clark.

1987 - Hockey Hall of Fame named it's newest members: Bobby Clarke, Jacques Laperriere, Ed Giacomin and builders John Ziegler (NHL President) and Matt Pavelich (supervisor of officials)

1989 - Detroit traded Adam Oates and Paul MacLean to St. Louis in exchange for Bernie Federko (the Blues' all-time leading scorer) and Tony McKegney.

1992 - Rick Bowness was hired as the first coach of the expansion Ottawa Senators.

1993 - Detroit Red Wings hired Scotty Bowman as their new head coach.

1993 - The Mighty Ducks of Anaheim officially received their NHL franchise membership.

2000 - Denis Savard, Joe Mullen, Walter Bush (President of USA Hockey), and L.A. Kings announcer Bob Miller were selected as the newest members of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

2011 - Boston Bruins defeat the Vancouver Canucks 4-0 in game 7 to become Stanley Cup champions. A terrible riot ensued in the streets of Vancouver.

Happy Birthday to Marcel Pronovost, Dean McAmmond, Pete Horeck, Danny O'Shea, Sandy McCarthy, Jesse Belanger, Sheldon Kennedy, Don Spring, Bart Crashley and Mario Gosselin

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP