June 14, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: June 14th

1908 - Frederick Arthur Stanley passes away at the age of 67.

1945 - Board of Governors turned down an application for a franchise in Philadelphia that would begin in the 1946-47 season.

1978 - Toronto traded Randy Carlyle and George Ferguson to Pittsburgh in exchange for Dave Burrows.

1978 - Philadelphia Flyers traded Tom Bladon, Ross Lonsberry, and Orest Kindrachuk to Pittsburgh, in exchange for a first round draft pick in 1978 (Behn Wilson)

1993 - The Florida Panthers officially received their NHL franchise membership.

1994 - Bobby Clarke was named as General Manager, President, and part-owner of the Philadelphia Flyers.

1994 - New York Rangers beat the Vancouver Canucks 3-2 in Game 7 of the Finals in New York, to win their first Stanley Cup since 1940.

2001 - NHL announced the newest members to the Hockey Hall of Fame: players Viacheslav Fetisov, Mike Gartner, Dale Hawerchuk and Jari Kurri, and builder Craig Patrick.

Happy Birthday to James Patrick, Eric Desjardins, Sami Kapanen, Johnny Wilson, Parker MacDonald, Hap Day, Andrew Cogliano, Rick Hampton, Floyd Thomson, Ryan Johnson, Jack Adams, Steve Begin, Ryan Jones and Devante Smith-Pelly

No comments: