Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

June 13, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: June 13th

1961 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members, including Syl Apps, Charlie Conacher, Hap Day, George Hainsworth, Joe Hall, Percy LeSueur, Maurice Richard Milt Schmidt, and Oliver Seibert.

1961 - Montreal Canadiens traded Doug Harvey to New York Rangers for Lou Fontinato.

1961 - Detroit Red Wings acquired defenseman Bill Gadsby from the New York Rangers

1966 - NHL announced the newest members of the Hockey Hall of Fame: Ted Lindsay, Max Bentley, Frank Brimsek, Ted Kennedy, Toe Blake, Elmer Lach, Ken Reardon, Butch Bouchard, Babe Pratt and NHL President Clarence Campbell.

1974 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members: Tommy Ivan (general manager of Chicago Black Hawks), Dickie Moore, Art Coulter, Billy Burch, Tomas Dunderdale, Charles Hay and former NHL referee-in-chief Carl Voss.

1974 - Don Cherry was named new coach of the Boston Bruins, replacing Bep Guidolin.

1978 - The NHL Board of Governors unanimously agreed to a merger of the Cleveland Barons and the Minnesota North Stars.

1983 - New York Rangers traded Ron Duguay, Eddie Mio and Eddie Johnstone to Detroit, in exchange for Willie Huber, Mark Osborne and Mike Blaisdell.

1986 - Detroit Red Wings named Jacques Demers as their new head coach.

1987 - In the NHL Entry draft held in Detroit, the Sabres used the #1 pick overall to pick Pierre Turgeon.

1987 - Washington traded Gaetan Duchesne, Alan Haworth and the Caps' first round pick in 1987 to Quebec in exchange for Clint Malarchuk and Dale Hunter. The Nordiques used the pick to select Joe Sakic.

1988 - Detroit Red Wings traded Brent Ashton to the Winnipeg Jets in exchange for Paul MacLean.

1988 - Brad Park, Tony Esposito, Guy Lafleur, Buddy O'Connor, Ed Snider and George Hayes were elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

2002 - Brendan Shanahan scored twice as Detroit beat the visiting Carolina Hurricanes 3-1 to win the 2002 Stanley Cup Championship in five games.

2002 - Scotty Bowman then announced his retirement, after becoming the first coach to win 9 Stanley Cups.

Happy Birthday to Jason Spezza, Doug Crossman, Valeri Bure, Radim Vrbata, Garnet Bailey, Blair Chapman, J.P. Bordeleau, Matt Bradley, Randy Gilhen, Shane Willis, Viacheslav Butsayev, Ryan McDonagh, Duke McCurry, Dave Roche, Dale Kushner and Danny Syvret

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP