May 22, 2017

This Day In Hockey History: May 22nd

1970 - The Buffalo Sabres and Vancouver Canucks were officially granted their NHL franchises, for expansion fees of $6,000,000 each.

1970 - Oakland Seals traded Francois Lacombe, cash and a first round draft choice in 1971 to Montreal in exchange for Ernie Hicke and Montreal's 1st choice (Chris Oddleifson). The Canadiens used the pick one year later to select Guy Lafleur.

1972 - Bernie Geoffrion was named as the first coach of the expansion Atlanta Flames.

1978 - Bobby Hull scored the winning goal as the Winnipeg Jets beat the New England Whalers 5-3 in Game 4 of the Finals, to win the 1978 Avco Cup, as the WHA Champions.

1987 - Calgary Flames hired Terry Crisp as their new head coach, replacing Bob Johnson, who had resigned to work for USA Hockey.

1992 - Calgary Flames named Dave King as their new head coach.

2000 - Chicago Blackhawks named Alpo Suhonen as their new head coach.

Happy Birthday to Janne Niinimaa, Rich Preston, Andrei Nazarov, George Patterson, Pete Kelly, Marc Pouliot, Lude Check and Jim Playfair.

No comments: