Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

April 16, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: April 16th

1939 - Boston won the 1939 Stanley Cup Championship and rookie Roy Conacher became the first player in NHL history to get 3 straight game winning goals in one playoff series, when he got the winner in a 3-1 victory over Toronto.

1949 - Toronto Maple Leafs became the first NHL team to win three straight Stanley Cups, with a 5-1 win over Detroit in Game Four of the Stanley Cup Finals.

1953 - Gerry McNeil recorded his fourth career playoff shutout, and Elmer Lach scored at 1:22 of overtime to give Montreal a 1-0 win over Boston, in Game 5 of the Finals at the Forum, giving the Canadiens the 1953 Stanley Cup Championship.

1954 - Tony Leswick's goal at 4:29 of overtime gave Red Wings a 2-1 victory over the visiting Montreal Canadiens in Game 7 of the Finals. It was the Red Wings' second Stanley Cup Championship in three years.

1957 - Montreal beat Boston 5-1 in Game Five of the Finals, to become the 1957 Stanley Cup Champions.

1961 - Chicago beat the Red Wings 5-1 at Detroit, in Game Six of the Finals, to become the 1961 Stanley Cup Champions.

1972 - Kevin O'Shea (with an assist from his brother Danny) scored at 10:07 of overtime to give the St. Louis Blues a 2-1 win over the North Stars, in Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Quarter-Finals.

1990 - Bobby Clarke left his post as General Manager of the Philadelphia Flyers. He later was named the GM of the Minnesota North Stars.

1992 - Brett Hull became just the second player in NHL history to score 70+ goals in three consecutive seasons.

1992 - Brian Leetch scored a goal and three assists to become just the fifth defenseman in NHL history to score 100 points in a season.

1992 - Mike Gartner became the first player in NHL history to get his 500th goal, 500th assist, 1,000th point and 1,000th NHL game all in the same season.

1998 - Chicago defenseman Chris Chelios appeared in his 1,000th career NHL game.

2001 - Ray Bourque set an NHL record by appearing in the playoffs for the 21st year.

Happy Birthday to Garry Galley, Mike Zuke, Boyd Devereaux, Kyle Okposo, Don Gallinger, Mike Crombeen, Harry York, Mattias Timander, Peter Regin and Chris Lindberg.

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP