Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

March 09, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: March 9th

1893 - After defeating Montreal Crystals 2-1, the Montreal AAA club captured the 1893 AHA title and were named the very first Stanley Cup champions.

1895 - In the first official challenge for the Stanley Cup, the defending champion Montreal Victorias successfully defended the championship with a 5-1 win over the Queen's University Golden Gaels.

1948 - NHL President Clarence Campbell expelled NY's Billy Taylor and suspended Boston's Don Gallinger because of their gambling associations. They were alleged to have bet on hockey games, though none were "fixed". Taylor was reinstated in 1970.

1963 - Montreal's Lou Fontinato missed on a check against New York's Vic Hadfield, hit the boards head first, and broke his back. Fontinato recovered, but never played hockey again.

1977 - New York Rangers retired Rod Gilbert's uniform #7, before a 6-4 win over the Minnesota North Stars. Gilbert became the first player in Rangers' history to have his uniform number retired.

1980 - NHL history was made when Hartford's Gordie Howe skated on a line with his two sons (Mark and Marty) as linemates. The trio had previously done this in the WHA throughout the 1970s.

1982 - St. Louis Blues obtained veteran defenseman Guy Lapointe from the Montreal Canadiens in exchange for their second choice (Sergio Momesso) in the 1983 Entry Draft.

1982 - St. Louis Blues obtained goalie Glen Hanlon from Vancouver in trade for Tony Currie, Jim Nill, Rick Heinz and a future draft pick.

1991 - Calgary's Theoren Fleury set a NHL record when he scored three shorthanded goals in the Flames 8-4 win at St. Louis. It was the 4th career hat trick for Fleury.

1998 - Philadelphia Flyers named Roger Neilson as their new head coach, the 12th in team history. Former head coach Wayne Cashman remained as an assistant.

Happy Birthday to Phil Housley, Paul MacLean, Harry Neale Radek Dvorak, Perry Turnbull, Chris Phillips, Brent Burns, Bryan Bickell and Colin Greening

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP