June 13, 2008

Oilers Teammates Want Andy In Hall, Too

All of the key participants of the Edmonton Oilers dynasty years are in the Hockey Hall of Fame now. Wayne Gretzky. Mark Messier. Paul Coffey. Grant Fuhr. Jari Kurri.

All except one - Glenn Anderson.

"Completely baffles me why Glennie's not in by now ... nobody scored bigger goals for us than he did in the playoffs," said Grant Fuhr in an interview with Edmonton Journal's Jim Mathieson. Anderson had 73 game-winners in the regular season, an Oilers record, and 12 more in the playoffs.

Linemate Mark Messier made a plea for Andy's inclusion last year when #11 was inducted.

"He's an obvious choice . . . other guys are deserving, too, but his numbers, coupled with everything else should get him in."

In the regular season he had 498 regular-season goals and 1,099 points, but it was in the playoffs where Andy made his mark. Anderson won six Stanley Cups, including all five in Edmonton. His career 214 playoff points trail only Gretzky, Messier and Kurri in NHL history.

Anderson has been eligible for debate since 1999 but has always been overlooked. This year marks his best chance, as there are no first time eligible players entering debate, thanks to the NHL lockout. The general rule of thumb is the first year players get the most consideration. The more time passes by, the less likely you will get into the Hall.

Other strong candidates include Igor Larionov, Doug Gilmour, Pavel Bure, Adam Oates and Dino Ciccarelli.
Successful candidates must get votes from at least 13 of the 17 voting members of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee. A maximum of four players may be inducted in one year.

No comments: