Skip to main content

Reconciled Stanley Cup Playoff MVPs

The Conn Smythe Trophy is annually awarded to the player to the player deemed to be most valuable in Stanley Cup playoff competition. It was donated by the Toronto Maple Leafs in 1965 in honour of long time Leafs coach, manager, and owner Conn Smythe.

The inaugural winner was Montreal's John Beliveau. Since then Patrick Roy has won it a record three times. Wayne Gretzky, Bobby Orr, Mario Lemieux and Bernie Parent are the only other players to win the trophy more than once. A complete list of winners can be seen here.

The Smythe trophy really sets aside the superstars from the mere great players. Is there a more important individual trophy than playoffs MVP? But, as we all know, the Stanley Cup playoffs go back well over 100 years. Thus, for much of Stanley Cup history no recognition of playoff legends-past exists.

A group of heavyweight hockey researchers, back by The Hockey News, looked to change that in 2001. Brian McFarlane, Steve Dryden, Bill Fitsell, Bob Duff and Ernie Fitzsimmons looked to reconcile playoff MVP status prior to 1965. They went through microfilms of newspapers for every season of the playoffs and added more statistics, such as first goals, winners, overtime tallies, assists on winners and goalies saves when available. As well, quotes from coaches of the day and comments by writers covering the games were taken into consideration. Several conference calls were held until the group came up with a definitive answer.

Their results are simply fascinating. Players of note include Teeder Kennedy, who, like Patrick Roy, was recognized three times, only Teeder did it in a four year span when the Leafs owned the Cup in the late 1940s. Other multiple award winners, with two each, were Jack Darragh, Rocket Richard and Terry Sawchuk. Jean Beliveau was again recognized. The game's greatest names such Gordie Howe, Howie Morenz, Stan Mikita, Frank Boucher, Syl Apps, and Jacques Plante all got recognition. As did some players who might be considered a surprise winner, such as Marcel Bonin, Ed Sandford, and Baldy Northcott.

You can view all reconciled winners here.


Anonymous said…

The link is not active anymore. Could you please provide the list with the reconciled conn smythe winners. Thanks!
Anonymous said…

The link is not active anymore. Could you please provide the list with the reconciled conn smythe winners. Thanks!

Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M