Skip to main content

Hockey Hall of Fame 2017?

In 2016 the Hockey Hall of Fame righted some wrongs and finally inducted some overdue honourees, namely Eric Lindros and Sergei Makarov, as well as long overlooked Rogie Vachon. Pat Quinn was inducted in the builder's category.

The Hall was able to finally include these polarizing cases thanks in large part to a weak first-year-eligible class in 2016. Goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff, defenceman Roman Hamrlik and forwards Milan Hejduk and Vinny Prospal headlined the group, none of which will likely ever make it to the Hall of Fame.

In recent years the first year eligible induction classes have been very strong, often featuring 3 or 4 very worthy candidates.

Which begs the question - who will be first year eligible in 2017?

Let's take a look:

Forwards: Daniel Alfredsson, Petr Nedved, Ray Whitney, Ryan Smyth, Saku Koivu, Teemu Selanne, Todd Bertuzzi

Defense: Ed Jovanovski, Tomas Kaberle

Goaltenders: Jean-Sebastien Giguere, Nikolai Khabibulin, Tomas Vokoun

Teemu Selanne is the only obvious candidate for immediate election. On first impression only I'd be willing to listen to cases for Alfredsson, Smyth and Koivu, though I am not certain any of them would make the cut.


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M