Skip to main content

Price Is Right At 2015 NHL Awards Show

The spotlight was clearly on Carey Price on Wednesday as the NHL handed out their annual awards.

Carey Price cleaned up, winning the Hart Trophy as MVP, Ted Lindsay Trophy as MVP as voted by the players, the Jennings trophy for fewest goals against and Vezina trophy as best goaltender.

In winning the Hart Trophy, Price becomes just the seventh goalie to be named as the league's MVP. The other goalies to win the Hart are Roy Worters with the New York Americans in 1928-29, Chuck Rayner with the New York Rangers in 1949-50, Al Rollins with the Chicago Blackhawks in 1953-54, Jacques Plante with the Canadiens in 1961-62, Dominik Hasek with the Buffalo Sabres in 1996-97 and 1997-98, and Jose Theodore of the Montreal Canadiens in 2001-02.

Ottawa Senators captain Erik Karlsson won his second Norris Trophy as the league's best defenceman, finishing ahead of the Canadiens' P.K. Subban and Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings.

Florida Panthers defenceman Aaron Ekblad won the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year, beating out Ottawa Senators forward Mark Stone and Calgary Flames forward Johnny Gaudreau.

Calgary coach Bob Hartley won the Jack Adams trophy as coach of the year. Flames forward Jiri Hudler won the Lady Byng trophy for gentlemanly play.

Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins won the Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward for the third time in four years.


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M