Skip to main content

NHL All Star Game MVPs by Position

The NHL has named a All Star Game MVP every year since 1962. Eddie Shack, the entertaining tough guy, was the inaugural MVP, of all people.

In that time centers have won the honour 14 times, right wingers 13 times,  and left wingers 8 times. That forwards have dominated this award should be no surprise. After all, the All Star game is all about offense, offense and offense. They do not even play defense right?

Five times have goalies been named as the MVP. And it has gotten even harder nowadays, because typically each goalie plays only 1 period each.

Defensemen have won the award only twice. Not surprisingly, they are arguably the two greatest defensemen of all time.

Here is a list by position:


1964 - Jean Beliveau
1966 - Henri Richard
1974 - Garry Unger
1975 - Syl Apps, Jr.
1976 - Pete Mahvolich
1983 - Wayne Gretzky
1985 - Mario Lemieux
1988 - Mario Lemieux
1989 - Wayne Gretzky
1990 - Mario Lemieux
1999 - Wayne Gretzky
2004 - Joe Sakic
2007 - Daniel Briere
2008 - Eric Staal

Right Wing:

1962 - Eddie Shack
1965 - Gordie Howe
1980 - Reggie Leach
1982 - Mike Bossy
1992 - Brett Hull
1993 - Mike Gartner
1997 - Mark Recchi
1998 - Teemu Selanne
2000 - Pavel Bure
2001 - Bill Guerin
2003 - Dany Heatley
2009 - Alexei Kovalev
2011 - Patrick Sharp

Left Wing:

1963 - Frank Mahovlich
1968 - Frank Mahovlich
1970 - Bobby Hull
1971 - Bobby Hull
1977 - Rick Martin
1984 - Don Maloney
1991 - Vincent Damphousse
2002 - Eric Daze


1972 - Bobby Orr
1996 - Raymond Bourque


1967 - Bruce Gamble
1978 - Billy Smith
1981 - Mike Liut
1986 - Grant Fuhr
1994 - Mike Richter


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M