Skip to main content

A History Of The Four Nations Cup

The Four Nations Cup has come to Kamloops, British Columbia this month. The annual women's hockey tourney should be a real treat for BC hockey fans.

The Four Nations Cup is an annual women's hockey tourney between Canada, USA, Finland and Sweden. The series dates back to 1996 when it was known as Three Nations Cup. Sweden joined in 2000 to make it the Four Nations Cup. The Americans pulled out of the 2001 tourney due to the Sept. 11th terrorist attacks in New York.

Canada has won 13 of the 18 tournaments. The Americans won the other five, with Canada placing second. The Finns have twice finished second. Sweden has never placed higher than third, which they have accomplished a total of 7 times.

The following information is all .jpg format annual summaries from the Hockey Canada women's media guide (hence the Canadian focus).

I have also included statistical information for the two Pacific Rim Championships that pre-dated the Four Nations Cup. That tourney took place in 1995 and 1996 and essentially is the forefather of the Four Nations Cup. Canada, USA, Japan and China competed but the tourney was done away with due to the discrepancy between the North American and Asian teams.


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M