Skip to main content

1989-90: Soviet Invasion

The Three Stars:

Soviets Join NHL - After years of negotiations the Soviet Ice Hockey Federation agrees to release veterans to the NHL. Igor Larionov, 28 and Vladimir Krutov, 29, join the Vancouver Canucks while Sergei Makarov, 31, joins Calgary. Slava Fetisov, 31, and Sergei Starikov, 30, join New Jersey.

Great One Passes Gordie - Wayne Gretzky, in his 780th career game, visits his old friends and teammates in Edmonton, very fittingly, and passes Gordie Howe as the NHL's all time leading scorer. After scoring the tying 1850th point earlier in the game, Gretzky breaks the record by tying the game with just 53 seconds left. In typical Gretzky fashion, after a long delay of celebration, he goes out and scores the overtime game winning goal, too.

Oilers Back On Top - Many thought it couldn't be done, but the Edmonton Oilers return as Stanley Cup champions just two years after trading Wayne Gretzky. Mark Messier emerges from Gretzky's shadow and wins the Hart and Pearson trophies. Bill Ranford is nothing short of spectacular in net, winning the Conn Smythe Trophy. Craig Simpson leads all playoff shooters with 16 goals and 31 points. Jari Kurri was also notably strong, and Petr Klima played unlikely marathon overtime hero.

Season Highlights:
  • Alan Eagleson loses his power as NHLPA boss. Bob Goodenow succeeds him.
  • The Quebec Nordiques make Mats Sundin the first ever European player drafted first overall.
  • The Vancouver Canucks create a storm of controversy when they draft Pavel Bure in the 6th round when all teams were operating under the understanding that Bure - then no was ineligible after the third round. Vancouver later produced evidence that he should have been available.
  • Bob Probert is sentenced to 3 months in jail for smuggling cocaine across the US-Canada border.
  • Guy Lafleur signs with the Quebec Nordiques.
  • After enduring terrible back pain from a herniated disc, Mario Lemieux is forced out of the lineup ending his 46 game scoring streak.
  • Cam Neely explodes with a 55 goal season including 25 on the power play and 12 game winners. Ray Bourque adds 84 points and wins the Norris Trophy and is runner up for the Hart Trophy. 
  • Like father, like son. Bobby Hull was once hockey's great 50 goal scorer. His son Brett Hull now joins him, scoring his 50th goal on February 6th, 1990, en route to a 72 goal season!
  • Wayne Gretzky leads the NHL in scoring again, with 142 points. Mario Lemieux finished with 123 despite missing 21 of the final 22 games.
  • Mark Messier finish 2nd with 129 points, and Steve Yzerman third with 127 including 62 goals.
  • Toronto Maple Leafs owner Harold Ballard, one of the most controversial owners in sports history, passes away after a lengthy illness.


Hallwings said…
Actually, the famed switching of #7 to #77 by Raymond Bourque happened on December 3, 1987, not during the 89-90 season.

Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M