Skip to main content

1934-35: Howie Morenz Traded!

The Three Stars

Big Names Traded - A hard salary cap of $62,500 per team and $7000 per player forces NHL clubs to make hard decisions about some big name veterans. Lorne Chabot, Lionel Conacher and Alex Connell all are on the move, but the most shocking trade comes when the Montreal Canadiens move the legendary Howie Morenz to Chicago. The Stratford Streak had won two scoring titles, three Hart Trophies and three Stanley Cups with the Habs, and was the NHL's all time leading scorer at the time.

Ottawa Senators Move to St. Louis - Following three last place finishes and a one year hiatus, the struggling Ottawa Senators - winners of four Stanley Cups in the NHL era - move to St. Louis where the team is rebranded as the Eagles. The team's fortunes do not improve as the Eagles finish last place at 11-31-6. The franchise folds completely the following season.

Introducing The Penalty Shot - A penalty shot is introduced, but it is a little different than nowadays. The shot is taken from inside a 10 foot circle located 38 feet in front of the goal. The goalie could not advance more than one foot from his goal line when the shot is taken. Goalies have a huge advantage, stopping 25 of 29 penalty shots. The first penalty shot takes place on November 10th, 1934 as Toronto's George Hainsworth stops Montreal Canadiens' Armand Mondou. The first successful penalty shot comes three days later when St. Louis defenseman Ralph "Scotty" Bowman (no, not that Scotty Bowman) scores on Alex Connell.

Season Highlights:
  • Long before Wayne Gretzky immortalizes the number 99 in hockey, three players wear the number for the first time. Three Montreal Canadiens call ups all wear the number in their sporadic games - Joe Lamb, Deese Roche and Leo Bourgault. The theory is the Habs carried the sweater as a spare for such call ups, so all three were given the exact same sweater when they arrived.
  • Charlie Conacher not only defends his NHL scoring title with 57 points including a career high 36 goals, but he plays three minutes of shutout goaltending when he relieves George Hainsworth for a spell due to an injury requiring stitches.
  • Eddie Shore becomes the first defenseman to win more than one Hart Trophy in his career. This award comes only a year after the Ace Bailey incident.
  • Lorne Chabot wins his only Vezina Trophy. Injuries would hamper him throughout the rest of his career.
  • Busher Jackson scored 4 goals all in the same period!
  • The defending Stanley Cup champions Chicago fire their coach/manager Tommy Gorman anyway. So what does he do? He heads to Montreal to work for the Maroons, who, thanks to players like Alex Connell and Baldy Northcott, win the Stanley Cup for the last time in their existence.


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M