June 23, 2014

Seven Calder Trophies Exist

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual NHL award given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League.

The award is in honour of former NHL president Frank Calder. But the award started in 1937, six years prior to Calder's death. In fact Calder himself would buy a new trophy each year as the winner was to keep the trophy forever.

The NHL changed that practice after Calder's passing in 1943. The NHL keeps the "real" Calder Trophy in the Hockey Hall of Fame, but somewhere out there exist six more Calder Trophies - given to Syl Apps (1937), Cully Dahlstrom (1938), Frank Brimsek (1939), Kilby MacDonald (1940), John Quilty (1941) and Grant Warwick (1942).

No comments: