Skip to main content

Wickenheiser, Chara, Ozolinsh Carry Flags At Sochi Olympics Opening Ceremonies

Of the 88 nations to arrive at the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics, four were led into the Opening Ceremonies by hockey players.

Canada chose 35 year old female hockey star Hayley Wickenheiser. "Wick" is participating in her 6th Olympics, 5 winter (winning 3 gold and 1 silver in women's hockey) and 1 summer (2000 Olympics playing softball).

Latvia was led by former NHL star Sandis Ozolinsh while Slovenia chose Tomaz Razingar.

Zdeno Chara left the NHL's Boston Bruins 2 games early to carry the flag for Slovakia. Here's a photo of his great moment.

That was the second most popular photo of Chara on this day. The first featured the 6'9" Chara posing for a photo with 4'11" Canadian figure skater Kirsten Moore-Towers:

Courtesy of the IIHF website, here is a complete list of hockey players who have ever carried the flag of their respective nation:

Chamonix 1924
Canada—Ernie Collett Sweden—Ruben Rundquist (official)
United States—Clarence "Taffy" Abel

St. Moritz 1928
Canada—Red Porter
Sweden—Viking Harbom (official)

Lake Placid 1932
Canada—Harold “Hack” Simpson
Germany—Martin Schrottle
Poland—Jozef Stogowski

Garmisch-Partenkirchen 1936
Canada—Walter ”Pud” Kitchen
Latvia—Leonids Vedejs

St. Moritz 1948
Canada—Hubert Brooks
Czechoslovakia—Vladimir Zabrodsky

Oslo 1952
Czechoslovakia—Vaclav Bubnik
Switzerland—Uli Poltera

Cortina d’Ampezzo 1956
Czechoslovakia—Vaclav Bubnik

Squaw Valley 1960
Australia—Vic Ekberg
Czechoslovakia—Jan Starsi
Soviet Union—Nikolai Sologubov
Sweden—Einar Granath

Innsbruck 1964
Hungary—Lajos Koutny
Grenoble 1968

Sapporo 1972


Innsbruck 1976
Czechoslovakia—Oldrich Machac
Soviet Union—Vladislav Tretiak

Lake Placid 1980
Czechoslovakia—Bohuslav Ebermann
Japan—Osamu Wakabayashi

Sarajevo 1984
Czechoslovakia—Jiri Kralik
Finland—Jorma Valtonen
Soviet Union—Vladislav Tretiak
Sweden—Mats Waltin

Calgary 1988
Poland—Henryk Gruth

Albertville 1992
Finland—Timo Blomqvist
Poland—Henryk Gruth

Lillehammer 1994
Slovakia—Peter Stastny

Salt Lake 2002
Latvia—Harijs Vitolins
Slovakia—Robert Petrovicky

Turin 2006
Canada—Danielle Goyette
Kazakhstan—Alexander Koreshkov
Latvia—Arturs Irbe

Vancouver 2010
Belarus—Oleg Antonenko
Czech Republic—Jaromir Jagr
Finland—Ville Peltonen
Norway—Tommy Jakobsen
Russia—Alexei Morozov
Slovakia—Zigmund Palffy
Sweden—Peter Forsberg

Sochi 2014
Canada—Hayley Wickenheiser
Latvia—Sandis Ozolins
Slovakia—Zdeno Chara
Slovenia—Tomaz Razingar

Also, in the 1936 Summer Games Canada's flag bearer was a pole vaulter named Syl Apps - yes, the Hockey Hall of Famer from the Toronto Maple Leafs.


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M