Skip to main content

Vancouver Millionaires' 1915 Stanley Cup Victory Set Hockey's Future

The year is 1915. The Stanley Cup is played for in Vancouver, where the local Millionaires hockey team hosts the legendary Senators from Ottawa.

Yes, the Stanley Cup was the prize, but something much, much more important was at stake. The future of hockey - hockey as we know it today - was cemented by the city of Vancouver's only Stanley Cup championship.

In 1914-15, Vancouver playing manager/coach Frank Patrick had put together a powerhouse team that dominated the Pacific Coast Hockey Association.

The Vancouver Millionaires had Hughie Lehman in nets, acquired from the New West Royals. Si Griffis, the team captain, anchored the defense, while forward stars Frank Nighbor, Mickey McKay, Barney Stanley and hockey's very first superstar Cyclone Taylor took care of the offense. Vancouver very much was a juggernaut designed to change the course of hockey history.

The season was capped off successfully on February 28th, 1915 when the Millionaires defeated the Portland Rosebuds by a convincing score of 11-3 to capture the PCHA championship. They finished the season with a record of 12 wins and 4 losses, outscoring the opposition mightily 101-40.

The season was not done yet, though. This was the first season of a new NHA/PCHA agreement. The Stanley Cup championship would be played between the winner of each league. By winning the western Canadian championship meant that for the very first time Vancouver was going to play for the Stanley Cup!

The Millionaires would face Cyclone Taylor's old team, the Ottawa Senators. The Sens defeated the Montreal Wanderers 4-1 in a two game, total goals series to win the NHA championship. The NHA, based in Eastern Canada, was the forerunner to the NHL.

While the Senators were slowly making their way across Canada by rail, the Millionaires headed south to Portland to played two exhibition games to stay sharp. In theory it was a great idea, although it almost proved disastrous. Griffis, the team's undisputed leader, badly twisted his ankle and would not be able to play in the Stanley Cup finals. Frank Patrick proposed his legendary brother Lester Patrick substitute in for Griffis, but the Senators would not agree to that. Little known rookie Lloyd Cook would fill in admirably. Lester would man the bench, allowing Frank to concentrate on the game, too.

The series between the Sens and Millionaires was to be a best of five, with three games under western rules (seven player rules) and two games under Eastern rules (six player rules). And that is where the future of hockey was set.

The PCHA introduced many of the rules we take for granted today. Perhaps the most important rule they used that the NHA did not was the use of the forward pass. The NHA did not, and as a result their game was more of rugby-on-ice strategy as compared to the modern game. In fact the NHA absolutely detested the forward pass.

The series would be a short one. Even with the loss of captain Griffis, Vancouver walloped the Easterners. Fans who paid as much as $14 a ticket (have tickets always been ridiculously overpriced in Vancouver?) witnessed hockey history.

Vancouver skated to an easy 6-2 win in game one, with Cyclone Taylor scoring twice. Ottawa admitted after the game that the Western rules confused them, particularly the use of the forward pass at center ice. But Vancouver loved it. Cyclone Taylor said in an interview " makes the game twice as fast. A man doesn't have to slow up and wait for his teammates in starting a rush down the ice. The referees have less to worry about and it gives the forwards better chances. Frank Patrick did a great stroke of hockey business when he decided to accept the forward pass."

Using Eastern rules in game two did not seem to help Ottawa, however. Despite jumping out to a 2-0 first period lead, Ottawa would be humiliated by the Millionaires. Vancouver exploded for 6 goals in the second period alone en route to a 8-3 drubbing. Ottawa resorted to assaulting Taylor, who had three goals in the game.

The third and final game was even less of a contest, with Vancouver winning easily 12-3. Barney Stanley scored 4 times. The game was so far out of reach so early that Vancouver never made a single substitute during the entire game, using the same 7 skaters for all 60 minutes.

The Stanley Cup had come to Vancouver! The players collected $300 bonus cheques and were treated like royalty.


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M