November 12, 2013

Who Should Be Inducted Into The Hockey Hall of Fame In 2014?

Is it too early to start wondering who will be in the Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2014?

Of course it is, but let's take a look at the first year eligible players next year:

  • Dominik Hasek
  • Peter Forsberg
  • Mike Modano
  • Mark Recchi 
  • Chris Osgood
  • Doug Weight
  • Brian Rafalski
  • Owen Nolan
  • Pavol Dimetra
  • Sandis Ozolinsh
As seemingly always, that is quite the first year class in 2014. Hasek and Forsberg have to be considered locks, though if you think about it Forsberg's career is eerily similar to Eric Lindros'. If Lindros keeps waiting, maybe Forsberg should wait, too? Mike Modano is another serious contender in year one.

Mark Recchi is also a serious contender, though I must admit I'm far from convinced he should be included. He's ridden a lot of coat tails of true superstars.

Chris Osgood is an interesting case. His resume is pretty damn amazing, though he never really was recognized as one of the best players of his time. With the bar set very high for goaltenders (and appropriately so, I might add) Ozzie will likely never get in, but his championships and numbers are strong.

In addition to Lindros there are some interesting holdovers from previous years. Rob Blake, Jeremy Roenick and Dave Andreychuk.

1 comment:

Dustin said...

I'm surprised you think Recchi might not get in; I presume you think it won't be in his first year of eligibility. He WILL get in before long = you can't have a guy who's 12th all time in points and 19th all time in goals NOT get in. The only non-active player with comparable numbers who is not in the Hall of Fame is Dave Andreychuk, who is 29th in points and 14th in goals. If Ciccarelli can get a hall pass for all of his antics, being only 45th in points (though 17th in goals), and with no Cups to his credit, Recchi should be a rock-solid guarantee - at some point, though perhaps not his very first year.