June 07, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: June 7th

1967 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members: Walter "Turk" Broda, Neil Colville, Harry Oliver and referee Red Storey.

1972 - Bob Pulford retired as an active NHL player, and was named the new coach of the Los Angeles Kings.

1972 - Hockey Hall of Fame named it's newest members: Gordie Howe, Jean Beliveau, Bernie Geoffrion, Hap Holmes, Reg "Hooley" Smith and builder Weston Adams

1976 - Denis Potvin broke Bobby Orr's eight year lock on the Norris Trophy, when he was named as the NHL's top defenseman.

1977 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members: Alex Delvecchio, Tim Horton, and builders Harold Ballard, Joseph Cattarinch, and John "Bunny" Ahearne.

1983 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members: Bobby Hull, Stan Mikita, and goaltender Ken Dryden.

1993 - John LeClair scored at 14:37 of OT to give Montreal a 3-2 win at Los Angeles in Game 4 of the Stanley Cup Finals, and an NHL record 10th straight playoff overtime win.

2004 - Tampa Bay's Ruslan Fedotenko scored twice as the Lightning beat the visiting Calgary Flames 2-1 in Game 7, to win the 2004 Stanley Cup Championship. Brad Richards won the Conn Smythe Trophy, as the playoff MVP.

Happy Birthday to Mike Modano, Stephane Richer, Terry O'Reilly, Willi Plett, Andrei Kovalenko, Gilles Marotte, Milan Lucic, Leo Reise Jr., Milan Jurcina, Matt Beleskey and Ron Graham

No comments: