June 10, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: June 10th

1965 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members: Marty Barry, Clint Benedict, Arthur Farrel, Red Horner, Syd Howe, Jack Marshall, Bill Mosienko, Blair Russel, Ernie Russell, Fred Scanlan and builders Foster Hewitt & Tommy Lockhart.

1969 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members: Red Kelly, Sid Abel, Roy Worters, Bryan Hextall, and builder Bruce Norris.

1970 - Hockey Hall of Fame announced it's newest members: Bill Gadsby, Tom Johnson, and Cecil "Babe" Dye.

1970 - Vancouver Canucks and Buffalo Sabres stocked their inaugural rosters in their Expansion Draft.

1971 - In the NHL Amateur draft held in Montreal, the Montreal Canadiens used the #1 pick overall to select Guy Lafleur.

1971 - The World Hockey Association was founded.

1973 - Al Arbour was named new head coach of the New York Islanders, replacing Earl Ingarfield.

1978 - 17-year-old Wayne Gretzky signed a personal services contract with Nelson Skalbania, owner of the WHA's Indianapolis Racers.

1981 - In the NHL Entry draft held in Montreal, the Winnipeg Jets used the #1 pick overall to acquire Dale Hawerchuk.

1987 - Detroit's Jacques Demers, after producing a 38 point turn-around as coach, was named the winner of the Jack Adams Award, as the NHL Coach of the Year.

1987 - Edmonton's Wayne Gretzky won the Hart Trophy (as the NHL's Most Valuable Player) for the eighth consecutive season.

1992 - Philadelphia Flyers re-hired Bobby Clarke as their new Senior Vice President.

1996 - Goaltender Patrick Roy made 63 saves for his 8th career playoff shutout, and Uwe Krupp scored the winning goal at 4:31 of the 3rd overtime as Colorado won 1-0 at Florida to win the Stanley Cup

2000 - Jason Arnott scored the winning goal at 8:20 of the second overtime as the New Jersey Devils won 2-1 at Dallas in Game 6, to capture the 2000 Stanley Cup Championship. Scott Stevens won the Conn Smythe Trophy.

2002 - Detroit's Dominik Hasek became the first NHL goalie to record a shutout in each of the playoff's four rounds.

Happy Birthday to Brent Sutter, Brian Benning, Mike Eaves, Dennis O'Brien and Leo Gravelle

No comments: