Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

June 26, 2012

Sakic, Sundin, Bure, Oates Inducted Into HHOF

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced the class of 2012 today. Congratulations goes out to Joe Sakic, Mats Sundin, Pavel Bure and Adam Oates.

Joe Sakic and Mats Sundin are deservedly inducted in their first year of eligibility, while the likes of Jeremy Roenick, Curtis Joseph, Markus Naslund, and, surprisingly, Brendan Shanahan were not. Sakic was a no-brainer if there ever was one. But the Shanny omission certainly raises a few eyebrows.

Joe Sakic was about as perfect a hockey player you could ever have. He was an even better person. He is the 6th member of Canada's gold medal winning 2002 Olympic team inducted. | Full Joe Sakic Biography |

Mats Sundin was the consummate pro, carrying Toronto teams on his back without a lot of help. He is almost underrated to some degree. | Full Mats Sundin Biography |

Pavel Bure and Adam Oates have waited far to long for their rightful inclusion.

Pavel Bure  was the most electrifying player of his era. Every goal, heck every rush, was an event. | Full Pavel Bure Biography |

Adam Oates  was a brilliant tactician and the second best playmaker of his era - behind Wayne Gretzky. | Full Adam Oates Biography |

It is an especially exciting day for Oates, who earlier in the day was named the new head coach of the Washington Capitals.

Of course, Hall of Fame induction announcements are often overshadowed by the selection committees omissions. Shanahan will be a much discussed exclusion, while the likes of Eric Lindros and international stars like Sergei Makarov continue to wait.

The selection committee failed to included anyone in the builder's category. Pat Burns and Fred Shero have very vocal support from the public, while women's builder Fran Ryder continues to be completely ignored.

No female hockey players were included in the Hall of Fame again this year. It is not like there is a lack of candidates. But there is a serious lack of knowledge of the female game amongst the old boys network that comprises the Hall of Fame Selection Committee.


Hallwings said...

I think there should be more than a maximum of four players inducted per year.

Still, congrats to the Russian Rocket, Adam Oates, Joey Sakic, and Mats Sundin.

G Botsis said...

I totally agree on the selections...Everyone was saying Shanahan, but although he had a great career, the others were more dominant players. I think Bure and Oates couldnt be denied any longer, and Sundin had a great career. Shanahan will get his turn but I dont think he was a first ballot Hall of Famer like a lot made him out to be.

rocmano44 said...

Congrats to former Bruin Adam Oates, well deserved honor!

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP