Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

May 01, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: May 1st

1965 - Jean Beliveau became the first winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy when the Canadiens beat Chicago 4-0 in Game 7 in Montreal, to win the 1965 Stanley Cup. Gump Worsley became just the second NHL goaltender to get a shutout in Game 7 of the Finals.

1987 - Pat Quinn officially assumed his job as President and General Manager of Vancouver Canucks, after having signed a contract with the team the previous January.

1992 - St. Louis Blues fired head coach Brian Sutter and replaced him with Bob Plager. Sutter had been the winningest coach in Blues' history (153-124-73 in four seasons) and had won the Adams Trophy in 1991.

1992 - Buffalo's Pat LaFontaine became the first player in NHL history to score a goal in each of his team's first 7 playoff games in one year.

1993 - Toronto's Nikolai Borschevsky's overtime goal at 2:34 gave the Leafs a 4-3 playoff win over the Red Wings in Game 7 of Norris Division Semi-Finals, in Detroit.

Happy Birthday to Clint Malarchuk, David Backes, Jim Lorentz, Bryan Marchment, Pat Conacher and Patrick Eaves

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP