May 14, 2017

This Day In Hockey History: May 14th

1927 - Montreal Canadiens donated the "Vezina Memorial Trophy" to the NHL in memory of Georges Vezina.

1965 - Jean Beliveau was named the winner of the Hart Memorial Trophy (as the NHL's MVP) for the second time in his career.

1969 - Los Angeles Kings obtained Eddie Shack and Ross Lonsberry from Boston in exchange for first round draft choices in 1971 and 1973. 1970 - Boston coach Harry Sinden announced his retirement from hockey. He returned to the team two and a half years later.

1973 - Chicago Black Hawks obtained Dale Tallon from Vancouver in exchange for goaltender Gary Smith and defenseman Jerry Korab.

1977 - Jacques Lemaire scored twice, including the winner at 4:32 of overtime to lead the Canadiens to a 2-1 win at Boston in Game 4 of the Finals. Montreal clinched the 1977 Stanley Cup, their 20th Stanley Cup championship.

1985 - Edmonton's Paul Coffey set an NHL playoff record for most points by a defenseman in a game, with 6 (1 goal and 5 assists) during a 10-5 Oilers' win over Chicago.

1987 - Montreal and Philadelphia engaged in a full scale pre-game warm up brawl before the game even started! Even more amazing - no penalties were assessed.

1989 - Al MacInnis scored twice as the Flames won 3-2 over the Canadiens in Calgary, in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals.

1993 - David Volek scored 2 goals, including the winner at 5:16 of OT to lead the Islanders to a 4-3 playoff win at Pittsburgh, in Game 7 of the Patrick Division Finals.

1995 - Quebec Nordiques beat the visiting New York Rangers 4-2, in Game 5 of the Eastern Conference Quarter-Finals. It was the final NHL game played in Quebec City.

1997 - Buffalo Sabres fired General Manager John Muckler. He was later replaced by Darcy Regier.

2003 - Anaheim's Jean-Sebastien Giguere tied a playoff record with his third consecutive shutout in a 4-0 win against the visiting Minnesota Wild, in Game 3 of the Western Conference Finals.

Happy Birthday to Gump Worsley, Rick Vaive, Danny Gare, Steve Tambellini, Pierre Plante, Mike Van Ryn, Don Blackburn and Alain Vigneault.

1 comment:

Adrian said...

87 brawl aye.. time to find a video of this :P
Nice post!