Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

May 10, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: May 10th

1954 - Detroit's Red Kelly was named the first winner of the Norris Trophy (awarded to the NHL's top defenseman).

1963 - Detroit's Gordie Howe was named winner of the Hart Memorial Trophy as NHL's MVP, for the sixth time in 12 seasons

1968 - Bobby Orr was named winner of the Norris Memorial Trophy (as the NHL's outstanding defenseman), for the first of eight straight seasons, an NHL record for defenseman.

1970 - Bobby Orr's overtime goal at :40 gave Boston a 4-3 win over St. Louis, and gave the Bruins the 1970 Stanley Cup Championship, in four straight games over the Blues. Orr won the Conn Smythe Trophy as the playoff MVP.

1971 - Boston's Bobby Orr was named winner of Hart Memorial Trophy as the MVP in the NHL for second straight season. He also won Norris Memorial Trophy for fourth straight season.

1973 - Yvan Cournoyer scored the winning goal, and added two assists, as Montreal beat Chicago 6-4 in Game Six of the Finals, to become the 1973 Stanley Cup Champions.

1980 - Bob Bourne got two assists as the Islanders advanced to their first-ever Stanley Cup Final by beating the Buffalo Sabres 5-2 in Game 6 of the Semi-Finals.

1983 - Islanders' goalie Billy Smith recorded his 5th (and final) career playoff shutout as New York won 2-0 at Edmonton, in Game 1 of the 1983 Stanley Cup Finals.

1984 - Grant Fuhr recorded his first career playoff shutout to lead the Oilers to a 1-0 win over the Islanders, at Long Island in Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals. Fuhr became the first goaltender to get a shutout in Oilers' playoff history.

1989 - Joe Nieuwendyk scored twice as the Flames won 3-1 over the Blackhawks in Calgary, in Game 5 of the Campbell Conference Championships. Flames won the series, and advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals vs Montreal.

1991 - Minnesota North Stars won 3-2 at Edmonton, to knock the defending Stanley Cup Champions out of the playoffs, in Game 5 of the Campbell Conference Championships. Minnesota advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals for the second time in team history.

Happy Birthday to Ryan Getzlaf, Randy Cunneyworth, Adam Deadmarsh, Mikael Andersson, Ab DeMarco, and Pete Babando.

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP