Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

March 20, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: March 20th

1948 - Hall of Famer Bobby Orr born in Parry Sound, Ont. Orr, who played in the NHL 1966-67 through 1978-79 with Boston and Chicago, is considered to be the best defenseman to ever play the game.

1969 - Chicago's Bobby Hull set an NHL record, when he scored his 55th goal of the season in a 5-5 tie at Boston. Hull broke his own record (for most goals in a season) of 54 set in 1965-66.

1971 - NHL history was made as two brothers faced each other in goal for the first time ever. Ken Dryden's Canadiens beat Dave Dryden's Sabres 5-2 at the Montreal Forum.

1977 - Montreal's Guy Lafleur scored a goal to set an NHL record with a point in 23 consecutive game. Th record was set by Bronco Horvath in 1960.

1983 - Al Secord became just the second Black Hawks' player to get 50 goals in a season (joining Bobby Hull) when he scored twice, and added two assists in a 7-3 Chicago win over the visiting Toronto Maple Leafs.

1986 - Marcel Dionne picked up an assist to move into second place on the all-time NHL scoring list (passing Phil Esposito) with his 1,591st career point when the Kings lost at Boston, 6-3.

1993 - Patrice Brisebois scored the 9,000th goal in Montreal franchise history, in a 6-2 Canadiens' win over Chicago in Montreal.

1994 - Wayne Gretzky scored twice to tie Gordie Howe's NHL record of 801 goals, as the Kings tied 6-6 with the Sharks at San Jose.

1996 - Vancouver Canucks obtained Markus Naslund from the Pittsburgh Penguins, in exchange for Alek Stojanov.

1996 - Grant Fuhr became the first goaltender in NHL history to start 71 games in one season, when he played in goal for the St. Louis Blues, in their 2-1 loss in Dallas.

Happy Birthday to Bobby Orr, Hal Winkler, Charlie Simmer, Dennis Wideman, Valtteri Filppula, Sergei Kostitsyn, Nick Leddy, and Bill Speer.

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP