Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

February 11, 2013

This Day In Hockey History: Feb 11th

1922 - After 20 minutes of overtime Toronto St. Pats and Ottawa Senators settled for a 4-4 tie at Ottawa. It was the first game in NHL history that ended in a tie. Ottawa's Punch Broadbent scored a goal in his 15th straight game to break NHL record.

1925 - Georges Vezina became the first goaltender in Montreal Canadiens' history to win 100 career NHL games, as the Canadiens won 10-3 over the visiting Ottawa Senators.

1950 - Detroit's Gordie Howe scored his first career NHL hat trick and added two assists in a 9-4 Red Wings' win at Boston.

1957 - The NHL Players Association was formed, with Detroit's Ted Lindsay elected as the first President.

1971 - Montreal's Jean Beliveau scored three goals, including the 500th of his career, and added an assist as the Canadiens beat the Minnesota North Stars 6-2, at the Forum. It was Beliveau's 18th (and final) NHL hat trick.

1984 - Normand Leveille returned to Boston Garden just 16 months after being stricken prior to Oilers game. Bruins won 4-1 over Edmonton.

1987 - Philadelphia's Dave Poulin scored with 1:15 remaining in regulation to power Team NHL over the Soviet Union 4-3 at Rendez-Vous 87 in Quebec City.

1988 - Edmonton's Wayne Gretzky scored a goal and two assists to give him 101 points, making 1987-88 his ninth 100+ point season, a new NHL record.

1995 - Los Angeles' Jari Kurri played in his 1,000th NHL game as the Kings won 5-2, at Toronto. Kurri became the second European player to hit the 1,000-game mark in the NHL. (Borje Salming)

1996 - Colorado's Peter Forsberg scored his first career hat trick as the Avalanche won 5-3 at Philadelphia.

1999 - Buffalo's Randy Cunneyworth scored in a 5-2 win vs Montreal, to set an NHL record for longest gap between goals with one team. His previous goal for the Sabres had been on Nov 15, 1981 (a span of 17 years, two months, 27 days).

Happy Birthday to Eddie Shack, Derek King, Mike Richards, Jaroslav Spacek, Alexander Semak, Maxime Talbot, Bryce Salvador, Andre Dore, Lew Morrison, Bruce Gardiner, Ville Siren, Jamie Pushor, Greg Stefan, Paul Harrison and Michel Dion.

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP