Skip to main content

This Day In Hockey History - Sept 24th

1927 - Overtime in NHL regular season play was changed to a 10-minute period.

1937 - NHL adopted a new "icing rule", whereby a team which deliberately shot the puck out of its defensive zone (when not shorthanded) would have the ensuing face-off brought back to the defensive zone point from where the puck was shot.

1938 - Montreal Canadiens purchased Herb Cain and Buddy O'Connor from the Montreal Maroons.

1976 - Team Canada won the first "Canada Cup" on Darryl Sittler's overtime goal which gave Team Canada a 5-4 win over Czechoslovakia.

1990 - Gilbert Perreault, Fern Flaman, Bill Barber and Bud Poile were inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Happy Birthday Dan Maloney, Jason Woolley, Tim Ecclestone, Karl Alzner, Kris Manery, Tapio Levo, Mike Lundin, Curt Ridley and Davis Payne.


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M