September 12, 2013

This Day In Hockey History - Sept 12th

Brooklyn Americans 1941-42 team photograph

1940 - The NHL Board of Governors eliminated the requirement that only jersey numbers 1-19 be allowed to designate player in NHL games.

1941 - The NHL altered rules to establish "minor" and "major" penalty shots. Under the new rules, a minor shot would allow a player a shot at goal from a line 28 feet away.

1941 - The New York Americans changed their "home city" designation from "New York" to "Brooklyn".

1979 - Hockey Hall of Fame inducted it's newest members: Bobby Orr, Harry Howell, Henri Richard and builder Gordon Juckes.

1985 - Pittsburgh traded Marty McSorley to Edmonton along with Tim Hrynewich in exchange for Gilles Meloche.

1985 - Hockey Hall of Fame inducted it's newest members: Gerry Cheevers, Bert Olmstead, Jean Ratelle, John Mariucci and Rudy Pilous.

1994 - Lionel Conacher, Harry Watson, and Brian O'Neill were announced as the newest members of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Happy Birthday to Marcel Bonin, Martin Lapointe, Paul Ranger, Josef Vasicek and Mike Murphy.

1 comment:

Ajlounyinjurylaw said...

Interesting list of history.