Home    A    B    C    D    E    F    G    H    I    J    K    L    M    N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    UVW    XYZ

June 23, 2010

A Look Ahead At Future HHOF Classes

The good news for the many players overlooked in 2010 is that the first-year eligible class of 2011 is even weaker. Perhaps Nieuwendyk, Lindros, Bure, Oates and company will have better luck next year.

2011 first-time eligible players:
  • Ed Belfour
  • Trevor Linden
  • Glen Wesley
  • Derian Hatcher
  • Stu Barnes
  • Mattias Norstrom
  • Dallas Drake
Of that group, only Belfour has a shot. Trevor Linden is my hero, and Derian Hatcher was my favorite villain, but neither are Hall of Fame worthy. Trust me, that hurts to say it, but it's true.

2012 is a much deeper class:
  • Jeremy Roenick
  • Mats Sundin
  • Joe Sakic
  • Curtis Joseph
  • Brendan Shanahan
  • Olaf Kolzig
  • Teppo Numminen 
  • Markus Naslund
  • Gary Roberts
  • Claude Lemieux
  • Bobby Holik
Wow, what a list! You would have to think Sakic and Shanahan are locks. Sundin will make it too, though maybe not in the first year. Personally I would be content without the other players in the Hall.

Players who retire this summer will be eligible for Hall induction starting in 2013. So far that list includes Scott Niedermayer, Chris Chelios, Keith Tkachuk and Sami Kapanen. That's a very impressive group too, with speculation having Teemu Selanne, Ziggy Palffy, and Mike Modano possibly retiring soon, too.

1 comment:

Fafo said...

Im pretty sure Jeremy Roenick will be a first time ballot as well...

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP