June 24, 2009

Looking Ahead At HHOF 2010

For a few years now there has been a logjam have excellent talent that, for various reasons, have fallen short from inclusion in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

2009 is the perfect example. Names like Pavel Bure, Doug Gilmour, Dino Ciccarelli, Sergei Makarov and Adam Oates, amongst many other, simply had little if any chance of getting in thanks to an exception class of first year eligible players.

2010 may be the year that the logjam breaks open just a bit. The first year class is not quite as strong as in recent years.

Eric Lindros
will dominate much of the discussion, with long time linemate John Leclair and Joe Nieuwendyk also getting some serious consideration. I think Peter Bondra probably should get the nod one day, but as was so often the case in his career I don't think the committee will show him much respect next year. Pierre Turgeon, Sean Burke, Scott Mellanby, Mike Ricci, and Matthew Barnaby are other notable first year candidates.

Without the no-brainer choices like in 2009, perhaps 2010 will be the year one of the longer waiting stars will finally get into the Hall without having to pay for admission like the rest of us.

No comments: