November 24, 2008

Ivy League Hockey

To be a good hockey player you have to have what is referred to as hockey smarts. You do not have to be a rocket scientist to play hockey, although that did not hurt Joey Juneau.

They do not teach "hockey smarts" in any school, but some big name hockey players definitely learned some on the campus rink.

Here's a list of some hockey stars who also got an Ivy League education:

Harvard: Don Sweeney, Steve Moore, Dominic Moore, Angela Ruggeiro

Yale: Randy Wood, Bob Kudelski

Princeton: Hobey Baker, Jeff Halpern, George Parros

Cornell: Ken Dryden, Brian Hayward, Joe Nieuwendyk, Kent Manderville,

Dartmouth: Carey Wilson, Lee Stempniak

Brown University: Curt Bennett, Yann Danis

Once you graduate from one of these illustrious schools, you can always continue your studies abroad at Oxford in England and become a Rhodes Scholar. The school has the second oldest hockey team in the world, behind only McGill University in Montreal.

The Oxford Blues have several amazing names among the list of alumni. No, none of them went on to play in the NHL or the Olympics, but they did go to bigger and better things:

Lester B. Pearson (picture in white to the right) - Canadian Prime Minister and Nobel Peace Prize recipient

Dr. George Stanley - Designer of Canada's flag and former lieutenant-governor of New Brunswick.

Clarence Campbell - Prosecuting attorney at the Nuremberg Trials, he also served as a NHL referee and NHL president.

Roland Michener - Former Canadian governor-general.

General Peter Dawkins - 1958 Heisman Trophy winner and American brigadier-one star general.

Allan Blakeney - Premier of Saskatchewan from 1971-1982.

Paul Almond - award winning Author and noted film and television director

Danny Williams - Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

James E. Coyne - Governor of the Bank of Canada

Dick Bonnycastle - founder of Harlequin Books and first mayor Greater Winnipeg

Major Talbot Papineau - Canada's famous "Lost Leader," he was killed in action at the Battle of Passchendaele in 1917. He was awarded the Military Cross posthumously.

No comments: