May 14, 2008

1978: Montreal Gets Best Of Bruins, Again

The year is 1978. The Montreal Canadiens defeat the Boston Bruins in the Stanley Cup finals again.

It seems as though the Canadiens own the Boston Bruins. From 1943 through 1987 Montreal never lost to Boston in a playoff series, going 18-0!

Larry Robinson is the hero this time, earning the Conn Smythe Trophy for his dominating play at both ends of the ice. In addition to his usual intimidating play in his own zone, he would lead all Montreal players in scoring against Boston, notching 6 points in the 6 game final. Overall, his 21 playoff points tied him with teammate Guy Lafleur for the league lead.

Other notable playoff performances are registered by defensemen: Boston's Brad Park (9 goals, 20 points in 15 games) and Toronto's Ian Turnbull (6 goals, 16 points in 13 games)

1 comment:

Unknown said...

From Boston.........again we gave it the old college try, but came up short in 6 games.

In game 3 of the final we shut them out 4-0.

In game 4 Bobby Schmautz won the game in OT 4-3 to tie up the series.