Skip to main content

1965: The Quiet Dynasty Begins

The year is 1965. A familiar name is engraved on the Stanley Cup. The Montreal Canadiens barely knock off the Chicago Black Hawks in 7 games. But the names belonging to the Canadiens were in no way familiar to Stanley Cup lore.

While the likes of Jean Beliveau and Henri Richard were holdovers from the great Canadiens teams of the 1950s, the team was mostly made up of a new generation of stars. For thirteen members of the team, this was their first Stanley Cup.

The revamped Canadiens included the likes of John Ferguson, Bobby Rousseau, Yvan Cournoyer, Ralph Backstrom and J.C. Tremblay. The Habs also acquired veterans from other teams, like Gump Worsley and Dick Duff.

It was the classy Beliveau who led this squad. He scored 5 goals and 10 points in the finals alone, and finished second behind Bobby Hull in total playoff scoring. For his efforts Beliveau became the first ever recipient of the newly created Conn Smythe Trophy, introduced to honour the best player of the playoffs.

Though they had Beliveau, the Canadiens lacked the flashy superstar they had in the 1950s with Rocket Richard, and would have in the 1970s with Guy Lafleur. Without that superstar ingredient, this Habs team would never get the recognition of it's predecessors or successors, despite winning 5 of the 7 Stanley Cups from 1965 through 1971. They were forever dubbed as the "Quiet Dynasty."


Popular posts from this blog

100 Greatest Hockey Players Of All Time

What follows is a listing of the 100 greatest hockey players of all time, in my opinion. As discussed earlier, the definition of greatness is a very personalized endeavor and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
While there is no way of ever truly ranking the top 100 definitively, it is important for the creators of such lists to be open and transparent of how the came to their conclusions. That accountability allows the reader to better understand the process. 

Although admittedly I'm using a completely unscientific formula, I weigh career achievements (era statistics, awards, championships) and legacy (impact on and off ice, peak dominance) equally high. I rank player ability as the third most important ingredient, as first and foremost as a tie breaker. Hence, I'm not necessarily looking for the better player, as in text book definitions of what a hockey player should be, but for players with the greatest careers and greatest legacies. Therefore the best player is not n…

Top Ten Junior Players Of All Time

Let's take a look at the Top Ten junior players of all time. For the purposes of this list we will at players in the WHL, OHL and QMJHL only.

10. Pat Lafontaine, Verdun, QMJHL Rookie-record 104 goals, 234 points in 1982-83; major junior player of the year.

9. Denis Potvin, Ottawa, OHL 254 games, 95 goals, 234 assists, 329 points. Broke Bobby Orr's junior records.

8. John Tavares, Oshawa, OHL 215 goals, 433 points in 247 games; most goals in OHL history; eligibility rules changed to admit him at 15; 2006 major junior rookie of the year, 2007 major junior player of the year; two world juniors, named 2009 all-star, top forward and MVP.

7. Sidney Crosby, Rimouski, QMJHL 120 goals, 303 points in 121 games; two-time major junior player of the year; silver and gold with Canada at two world juniors.

6. Eric Lindros, Oshawa, OHL 97 goals, 216 points in 95 games; one Memorial Cup victory; three world junior tournaments; major junior player of the year in 1991.

5. Mike Bossy, Laval, Q…

Greatest Hockey Legends: M